Inspiration to cake: Modern Baroque

Sometimes when you start planning a new design you have an idea of how you want it to turn out from the outset.

Olofson Design modern baroque cake
Photo copyright Anushé Low Photography

With this one, I had ‘Modern Baroque’ as my concept starting out. Something that celebrated the opulence and splendour of the period without focusing on gold mouldings which you would expect. For me, an abundance of flowers set against black tapped into that.

I had planned on adding some gold embellishment, but I found that once the printed floral stripes were applied I actually liked the striking simplicity.

The resulting design is undeniably feminine, but I think that the pops of bright colour and lack of any glitz definitely give it a more high fashion feel.

The unstructured sugar flower arrangement took a phenomenal number of flowers to fill it out. I was making those babies for at least 3 days!

Leave a Reply

